Phonar- Task Two: The Process

During the first week of our lectures for Phonar (Photography and Narrative) we completed 4 mini tasks from The Photographers Playbook. These tasks were from: Christine Shank, Aline Smithson, Shawn Records and Melissa Harris. These tasks were all very different and linked into the ‘finding’ workshops that we had been doing. This relates to finding new photographic projects. These tasks were all taken using our phones, so weren’t the highest quality, but that didn’t matter. The point of completing these tasks was to critically analyse the images that we created and see where these could be developed further. See my initial response to these tasks below.

Aline Smithson:

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.10.25Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.10.38

 

 

 

 

 

 

1) Who are you?

An open book…

who are you

2) What did you look like as a child?

what i looked like when i was younger

3) What is your main character trait?

Bubbly…

personality trait

4) What inspires you the most?

Family, pushing me to do my best…

what inspires you

5) What do you normally never take a picture of?

Night, need to do more!

what i never take pics of

6) What do you love about photography?

Physical images, memories…

what i love about photography

7) If you weren’t a photographer what would you be?

Personal shopper, of course!

job if i wasnt a photographer

8) What is the first thing you touch in the morning?

first thing i touch

9) What is your favourite photography? (By you or someone else)

The bubble, Melvin Sokolsky…

favourite image

10) What is the meaning of life?

Adventure…

what is life

Christine Shank:

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.12.17Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.12.29

 

 

 

 

Cgfm7rvXEAIlZkr

Melissa Harris:

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.11.22Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.11.35

Cgfox1WXIAA-5Zc

Shawn Records:

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.10.50Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.11.02Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 17.11.09

8 people looking at me North West, 1 photo…

Bethany Crisp


Reflect on your work, chose one image and analyse how you could develop it into a 5-8 image body of work. Consider form, content and concept.

I have chosen this image from Aline Smithson’s task- making a visual connection between words and ideas. The main reason I have chosen this image is for the content of it, Polaroid images. I have owned a Polaroid camera for just over a year however I have only ever used it for personal images, memories and mainly with friends- this can be seen in the original image. There are loads of images that I could of expanded on, both from this task and others that we have completed. However I feel like Phonar is a module that is very much about experimentation. I want to take the form of a Polaroid and experiment with how I can use these instant images and make a 5-8 image photographic project. I also want to experiment with minimalistic photography; something that I have previously touched on but never taken any further, this component is something that I was reminded of from my response to Christine Shank’s task. By combining these two factors together I am finding a way to develop my photographic practice in a way that I normally wouldn’t.

I am not the form of the original image which was digital, however there could be a digital element used to experiment with the Polaroid’s that I make. The content of the developed body of work will reflect a minimalistic style but something that could provoke memories, which is the content of the original Polaroid’s that I photographed. I want to experiment with colours and how these may provoke certain feelings or memories in a minimalistic light. The content from Shank’s task is where I got the idea for minimalism. The image produced was almost abstract and provided a dream like quality; however what I am more interested in is the simplicity of it, the cleanness.


Develop a 5-8 image body of work that reflects the themes you have explored in the critical analysis.

Development:

Untitled-3

Final Piece:sequence


Critical rationale

I found it hard deciding which task to develop further. There were so many different routes that I wanted to take; however I am very happy with my body of work. I feel like I have pushed myself further in regards to my photographic practice and experimented with both a different form and concept. Although the Polaroid is a different form in itself I also don’t do much manipulation in Photoshop so have stepped out of my comfort zone in that aspect too. I really like the graphic approach that has been taken and from completing this task I now know that this is something that I want to explore more in the future.

Also I have explored a more abstract and minimalistic theme, something that I have never really done but always wanted too. I think I have been successful in using colours within the image to represent this minimalism along with provoking memories and emotions with these. I think this works well as it makes the audience think further about the colour palettes used and what connotations are linked to each colour or group of colours.

The five images created work well as a series; I would be interested to see if I could develop this further in the future. Maybe by using different objects rather than just sticking to one, flowers. This is something to consider further after the deadline.

 

 

