Box of Prints

Finally I have an idea for my final outcome that I am happy with! This is a perfect mixture of both prints and a book. By putting my work in a box it won’t be bound together and therefore the people looking at the work can look at it in whatever order they want and rearrange it as they please. As well as this the box almost acts as a shelter to the prints, much like a bus stop does to the people who use them.

I do need to consider how to keep the locations together as if the prints are completely reordered the maps that I plan to include won’t be relevant or make sense. As well the comparisons between the locations won’t be possible. There are several ways I could do this. For example I could make the map page like a cover that would have the images for that location inside. Another option would be to use the circle motif that I am using on my maps and runs through some of my images as well. I could do this by colour coding each location with a small circle on the back of the image. Without trying either of the options yet I think the latter will work better, however this is definitely something to experiment with further.

Another thing I need to consider is the maps. There are several questions that I need to ask myself. Would colour coding the location to match the bus routes work better than just using the one dot for location to separate the chapters? I think that using the colours would work better as my work will all be linked together this way and probably make more sense to people viewing it as well. If I just use the one dot for the location I think this could look a bit random and it may not look like a map anymore.

What paper do I print these on? Do I use thicker paper to indicate a chapter? Or maybe acetate could be something to experiment with? I want to experiment with different types of paper, especially for the maps, as chapter separators I think that these probably will work better on a different kind of paper, most probably just slightly thicker. Another interesting thing to experiment with is acetate. However I’m not sure that this will work successfully as all of the images are quite busy, this might just look confusing and camouflage the dots on the map. However this isn’t something I will know before I try it out.

Do I need to include a map with each location labelled at the end to make it clear to people that haven’t figure out that it is intact a map? Although part of me thinks that this maybe makes it too obvious I also think that it makes my project more specific to these areas. As a site specific project I think this is something that may strengthen my project further.

Do I include a key for the locations instead of certain parts of the maps? Bus maps generally have a key for each bus route, these are normally numbered by the bus number. Something to consider within my project is producing a key similar to this but including the location names instead of a number. I’m not sure if this is something that I need to include as I think the maps that I have created and am using solves the issue of knowing where the location is. However I have created a key to experiment with this. See key below.

key

I have decided to use 5 images from each location within the box, this makes 30 images. In addition to this there will be several maps to give the work some context and also to chapter each location, this will bring it up to between 35 and 40 prints in the box, depending on which layouts I decide to go with. Along side this I have decided that one portrait per location will be printed at a larger scale and presented on a wall behind the box. I think these images are strong and stand alone, separately to the abstract images in the box.

Below are the images that I have chosen for each location.

Birmingham:

Coventry:

Edinburgh:

Leamington Spa:

London:

Norfolk:

And the portraits for each location as well.

Birmingham:

birmingham (1)

Coventry:

coventry (1)

Edinburgh:

edinburgh

Leamington Spa:

Leamington

London:

london (1)

Norfolk:

norfolk (1)

