Richard Johnson and Jason Vaughn

Richard Long’s ‘Canada’s ice huts’ and Jason Vaughn’s ‘Hide’ are other examples of projects with uniform images of the same subject. After looking at some many projects like that I have decided that they are striking and do make an impact to an extent. However I have decided that I want a little more depth to my project as a whole. Although images like this may be used within my final series of work, I can’t see them being the only thing in it. I want to tell more of a story with my work. To do this I need to experiment with different ways to represent bus stops and the people that use them as well. Human interaction is a big part of them and therefore this should also be represented in my project.

Johnson is aiming to take pictures with nothing personal attached to them, he was generally happy if no one was home However within my images I want to add a personal touch, I think this makes the audience think more and even relate to the pictures. “I can get a clean shot of the shack, I like it when it has that desolate feel.” – Richard Johnson. I understand why this may be what is appealing to him, however the desolate feel makes the images look almost fake and unreal. If I was to take pictures of bus stops with no one there it would have to be a coincidence and just how it happened to be when I got there, if not this is an artificial view of what I am capturing. Johnson is interested in the huts on an architectural level, if this was the case for me then producing images like this would be perfect and provide a comparison to the structures, this is what Johnson and many other photographers have achieved. My goal is to create something different and make these structures that people see daily stand out, make them a work of art in their own right even if they aren’t meant to be. I want to make people notice what is around them on a daily basis. Richard Johnson believes that the huts all say something about the person that owns them, they all have touches that the owner will have added to them. He sees the images almost as a portrait of the people that live their. This is a really nice view to something that has been done before and certainly makes it a bit different. Below are a few pictures from his series.

Jason Vaughn’s series ‘Hide’ originally began to document the hunting tradition in Wisconsin. He used the deer huts as a changing values of the sport. Jason had to take a break from this project due to falling ill, when he returned his opinions towards his work had changed, and the project took a deeper, more personal view point. The idea was now more to do with permanence and impermanence. This project became more of a reflection on his family and more of a homage to what had become his home. It became a narrative about him accepting change. I really like that Vaughn’s project turned into something with a lot more meaning, this is very different to projects that are similar to this. I want my project to at least have a story to it, if not a deeper meaning for myself. See a few images from ‘Hide’ below.

