Julien Tatham and Richard Hooker

When searching for photographers that have already completed projects around the area of bus stops Julien Tatham kept popping up! He is a photographer and artist that likes to reveal the beauty in our everyday lives that don’t generally get noticed. I really love these images and think that they are really interesting. The way that the glass or whatever the bus stop is made out of distorts the image is what I think draws me to these images the most. This is certainly something that I want to experiment with, but not just with people like Tatham has, but other things that I may find at the bus stops I have found. This will link into the more research I do on other photographers and the history of bus stops.Throughout my project I want to experiment with lots of different things, I think this abstract way of representing them could be a step towards making people see the bus stops in England as a work of art, much like they do in other countries. As well as this, it will also provide a big section of the documentary part of my project. See some of Tathams images below.

Another photographer that I kept noticing was Richard Hooker. His work is similar to Tathams in the style of both documentary and human interaction. Hookers work differs in that he is concentrating on the people themselves and what he finds interesting about them. He thinks that they form a work of art in themselves, especially as all these different people are congregating together, normally just for a short period of time. This is another approach that I will considering when starting to photograph my body of work. See some of Hooker’s images below.

Although both of these projects only include one type of images I don’t want to limit myself to just one style. I’m not entirely sure how I want to present my work as of yet but I can think of several ways that could include different styles of images. I think by not just having one style and one framing method I will be able to keep my audience engaged throughout my whole project. This is definitely something that I need to experiment with. I may find that one style makes my work a lot stronger and may be a better option, however at this point I can’t see that happening.

