Task 2- CCI

The second task that we had to do was to show that we had the ability to use studio lighting. Caroline didn’t teach is in year one so it gives her a chance to know what level we are at and what we are capable of.  It will also show that we can work collaboratively and well in a group. There were 11 photos put on Moodle, we had to chose 3-4 of these and try and recreate them using the studio lighting or natural lighting that is available to us. These are the photos that my group chose to recreate:

Although we have had tutorials on studio lighting and I have used it ever since college, it certainly isn’t my strong point as I don’t use it often but only when I have to really. This is because I’m not a big fan of the effect that it creates. Obviously it works well in certain work and I wouldn’t purposely stay away from it if it would work well within my work but it isn’t a style that I would generally try to recreate. In a way I was glad of this task as I certainly think this is something that I need to work on to improve my overall skills and knowledge. I found this surprisingly simple and think the images that we made work well and have the same lighting techniques. I thought that being able to know where the light source was coming from would be the biggest challenge for me, however I got this sussed pretty quickly. My main weakness was being able to tell what sort of lighting was needed, soft or harsh. I didn’t think that I would struggle so much with this, I think it is more to do with which attachments to the lights that I need for example a snoot or soft box. I now think that I am more confident on this side of the studio lighting as I am able to look at the image and know how to change it to make it look how I want, therefore am more confident as a photographer. Here are the images that we created:

Equipment we used:

Camera: Cannon 5D Mark II

Tripod

Lights

Snoot

Soft box

Reflector

Deflector

1st Pose: As this was the first pose that we did it took us a little time to get to grips with the equipment again, we also realised that if we shot in black and white it was easier to see the tonal changes and how harsh the shadows was so this made it a lot easier for the next 3 images. Once we had familiarised ourselves we quickly got this shot. Originally we thought a soft light would be used however not enough contrast was formed when doing this, instead we ended up using two harsh lights and a reflector on the side that was brighter, we also used a deflector on the shadowed side. I think the image that we created is good, and you can definitely tell that our inspiration was from the original image. Although I don’t particularly like the effect studio work creates I do like this image and wouldn’t hesitate to recreate it in the future.

2nd Pose: This was a lot easier, we knew from just looking at this image that the only lighting used was a light coming from in front of the model, I think that we have recreated the shadows in the image well, and found this simple to do. I am happy with how this image has turned out and think that the contrast in the images is also what we wanted it to be.

3rd Pose: When first looking at this pose and the lighting we thought that this would this would be the most challenging and hardest to recreate. However we were surprised when we actually managed to recreate this in the shortest time and one of the first shots that we took worked well! All this took was a harsh light behind the model, obviously not in view, but enough to highlight the back of her head creating the halo effect. This is an effect that I have never bothered to try in the past as I thought that I wouldn’t be able to achieve it. Now I know that I can it may be something that I use in the future as it is a bit more interesting than the generic studio image.

4th Pose: This was by far the easiest image to recreate, we decided that using the natural light from the sun would be the best way to get the lighting right as it wasn’t harsh and looked very natural. I think we managed to create the image as we wanted to.

We also had to create a lighting diagram for the images that we took, this will help me remember how to create these effects and will stop me wasting time with trial and error.

After completing this task I am definitely a lot more confident in the studio, I did find this challenging and it took a bit of trial and error to understand, I have never really tried to recreate certain lighting and just used trial and error, I now know that I can do this and the results are to a good standard. I hope to use the studio a bit more this year, especially as I am hoping to return to shooting more portraits, although I may not like the overall final effect it will be good to get the hang of the lighting so I can then take this and using it at an on location shoot.

