Star Trails

I have always wanted to do a star trail since I first saw them years ago, but never got the opportunity. Waiting for a clear night and having the night completely free is a big restriction to when you can do them. Over summer, while I was at home, in Norfolk, I grabbed my opportunity whenever I could. I tried to do this while I was at uni, however there is too much light pollution to even see the stars, let allow capture them. Another restriction is that they take so long, and its at such a late time. I was doing half an hour exposures, I think this is really the minimum amount of time I would use to get the effect that I am after. They can of course be longer, to create a longer trail. I tried two different ways of taking the image, one was just one half an hour long exposure, this worked well, however the colours weren’t right, and were a bit too purple. To try and correct this I took one photo every 30 seconds for half an hour and then put them all together in photoshop. Although this took a lot longer to do after the image had actually been taking I definitely think that this is the technique that I will be using in the future. The final image looks a lot better and the colours are correct. As well as this you get all the separate images which capture other things such as shooting stars. There is always lighter corners in my images, this is because of light pollution, although I am in the countryside it is hard to get no pollution. This may be as simple as a car driving past a road down. I think this did improve slightly with the second technique and will try and improve this further. I am happy that I have finally and successfully made a star trail! I will be trying to do more in the future with a more interesting foreground. These are the images that I have created:

I also made a stop motion of the star trail when I took one photo every 30 seconds, I thought this worked really well, especially as a shooting star that goes across the sky, I also like that you can see the movement of the other stars and the cloud.

