Paul Gaffney

I have looked at Paul Gaffney’s work in a previous module, I loved his work and how it made me feel, I wasn’t just looking at a picture of a place, but was feeling different kinds of emotions like I had been there myself, when of course I probably hadn’t. After revisiting this work I decided that this also related to the project I was currently doing. I think this is because although the place itself may not be important to the project it plays a big role, I wanted to people to know what sort of location it was and how it made me feel. The project being about cloud watching, largely used as a method of relaxation. Being able to get emotion across in my images is there for a big and important part of my project. As Paul Gaffney said, describing his work ‘a meditation through nature and the journey’, this is much like I am trying to get across to my audience. I think I have certainly managed to get some emotion through to my audience with my images and therefore being successful on this front. Here are a few of Paul Gaffney’s images:

These images are very different to the ones that I am making for this project, but its what they represent and how they make the audience that is similar and something that I want to replicate. I am more interested in what the image means, not only to the photographer but the audience as well. In some projects it is ok for the image to mean a lot to the photographer or the person who made it but not a great deal to the audience. What I am currently doing is the exact opposite, if I want the audience to appreciate what is around them then I need them to feel some sort of emotion. It may not be positive, but even if it is negative it will provoke other thoughts about my images and when they are out and about, whether it is a similar place or not. I also think that my project will give exposure to cloud watching and Matsuo Basho as well, his poem being my inspiration and most probably present at the front of my book. My images are intentionally simplistic and minimal, I don’t want to be telling the people looking at my work how to feel, but for them to interpret it themselves. By having this simple approach and not overcomplicating my images or message I think that this is certainly achievable.

