Cloud Watching

Before starting this project I thought cloud watching was a thing of relaxations, something someone does’t really plan to do, but just stumbles across doing it whilst out, generally while laying in the sun on a nice day. However since I have started this project and have been researching more into it, I have found many forums and a society proving me wrong. There are certain groups of people that class cloud watching as part of their everyday lives. I have emailed the ‘Cloud Appreciation Society’ hoping that I can get some extra information which can be directly linked to my project. I am also trying to find an individual that I can either have online conversations with or meet up with in person to talk to more about the subject. However, as expected, I am finding this hard to do. This isn’t crucial for my project as like I said, cloud watching can be enjoyed by anyone. I wasn’t planning on using interviews or quotes within my project, but it would be a good area to explore and certainly provide another option for a narrative. I am going to continue my search for someone to talk to more in-depth about this. My email has been forwarded on to a specific person, so hopefully I get a reply soon and this can be a possible avenue to follow. Since starting this project I have found that I notice the sky more, not just the clouds, but I find that I look up and appreciate what is there. I hope that my project will do the same for others. Some of the facts and opinions¬†that I found out from societies and groups online are as follows:

The Cloud Appreciation Soceity:

  • We believe that clouds are unjustly maligned and that life would be immeasurably poorer without them
  • We think that they are nature’s poetry, and the most egalitarian of her displays, since everyone can have a fantastic view of them
  • We pledge to fight ‘blue-sky thinking’ wherever we find it. Life would be dull if we had to look at cloudless monotony day after day
  • We seek to remind people that clouds are expressions of the atmosphere’s moods, and can be read like this of a person’s countenance
  • Clouds are so commonplace that their beauty is often overlooked. They are for dreamers and their contemplation benefits the soul. Indeed, all who consider the shapes they see in them will save on psychoanalysis bills
  • And so we say to all who’ll listen: ‘Look up, marvel at the ephemeral beauty, and live life with your head in the clouds’

10 reasons to look up, cloudman.com

  1. Clouds and cloudscapes are the greatest free show on earth.
  2. Clouds are never exactly the same. They are never boring, there are 4 basic cloud types: cumulus, stratus, cirrus and nimbus, but from these nature composes endless symphonies of the skies which are mixtures and elaborations of the basic types
  3. Many skies are simply beautiful to behold. The combination of form, position, gradations of light and shadow, and even colour is pleasing to the eye
  4. Clouds are a ‘billboard of coming attractions’. It is only natural to wonder what weather is to come and this is a great indication. There is also the satisfaction that follows if your predictions are correct
  5. Establishing a habit of observing the sky when you first get up and before you retire, and many times in between, gives one a sense on connectedness with nature. This is increasingly important with the high tech society we have today.
  6. Cloud observing nourishes a global consciousness, something that we take for granted
  7. Planet Earth is unique because of the presence of water substance, and the fact that the 93,000,000 isles distance from the sun allows water to exist in all 3 of its states. Astronauts who made the trips to the moon were impressed by the beauty of Earth- the white blue and green orb against the blackness
  8. Water is a miracle substance, in the absence of water the world would be cloudless and the planet would be a lifeless desert like Mars
  9. Cloud watching is an antidote to boredom
  10. Clouds are a magic show of the sky

My thoughts:

I’m not sure I agree with the intensity of the love for clouds that these groups have. I do notice the clouds now, but am just as content with a cloudless day (this normally means not rain and plenty of sun!). However I do agree with some of the things that they are saying, I am starting to see the clouds more and more as art, something that changes on a day to day basis, the fact that it is always different does interest me. I like the thought that clouds are the worlds expressions, this is something that I might look into more, I think this can be linked to weather- showing how the Earth is feeling maybe. I also agree that the beauty of clouds is often over looked, sunsets and even sunrises are commonly noticed and photographed but clouds not so much. Other than the obvious difference of colour I’m not too sure why people don’t notice as much. Yes they are there most days but like I have said they are different, and I don’t think that people appreciate this. I also agree that cloud watching is a good relaxation method and it is indeed free to everyone! I don’t think cloud watching has to be a daily thing to appreciate it, far from it actually, each person is different and can enjoy it at different times. By researching more into this I have been able to see some views and opinions that I never thought existed. This research has definitely enabled me to think deeper into the project and come up with new twists on my ideas.

