Presentation

For the second part of this assignment we have to do a presentation, this is only 5 minutes and isn’t a formal thing. I decided against using a keynote for this as I think I would rely on it too much and I think the presentation would seem to scripted. Instead I have made a slideshow of all the images I have used in my final piece, this will be repeated in the background as I am talking about my research. I have made a few notes on the things that I want to talk about so I don’t miss anything important out, I will also practice this to make sure I have the timings right and don’t talk for too long or too little. These are the notes that I have made:

  • First thought on project was food- Chinese in particular, in the UK- David Munns- not in studio, where it would be prepared
  • Started thinking about Chinatowns- still on food, but had never been so keeping an open mind
  • Wanted the place to be my inspiration but looked at photographers who explore communities such as Jeffrey Stockbridge (Kensington Blues), Trent Parke (Minutes to midnight), Mark Power (City of 6 Towns), Anders Petersen (Café Lehmitz)
  • Thought my pictures from first trip were too touristy- looked into Corinne Vionnet, tried it out in relation to Chinatowns, also tried GSV
  • Few more ideas: differences of Chinatowns/ misconceptions of Chinatowns/ talking to people- taking pictures on what they say (didn’t work- needed more time, people uneasy and didn’t want to talk)
  • The more pictures I took, the more my ideas evolved, exploration was a big part of my project
  • Final idea- Borders of Chinatowns
  • Truth- where is the border? Is there one? People don’t generally look for one
  • Decided a book for final piece- good way to present a larger amount of images
  • Links to borders, the pages being and interesting point
  • Tried Japanese stab binding and accordion styles
  • Chose accordion style, links in well to project, plays on the idea of borders
  • Stands up and acts as a border
  • In exhibition I would stand it up, double sided, borders can be approached by both sides
  • One side the border and the other what I found on the other side of the border

After practising this I might have to expand on certain points or maybe cut things out, but this gives me an idea of what I want to talk about and covers all the important points.

