Taryn Simon- The Innocents

Taryn Simon’s series ‘The Innocents’ documents the stories on people who served time in prison for a crime they didn’t commit. Simon’s photographed these people at places that were linked to the crime that they supposedly committed. This links to my project as the place that is here is important to the image. I want to find different ways to represent Chinatowns and what is going on there, the place being the main subject of my images. Also I want to do some portraiture within my project, I will experiment with staged portraiture like this and natural, in their environment. I struggle with staged portraiture, especially when i don’t know the person, so by researching photographers and series like ‘the innocents’ I am able to get some ideas of how to ask them to pose.

