Final piece

Originally I was unsure on how to present my final piece, I decided to create a book as I believe my sequence of images flows well, almost like you are turning the pages of a book and a journey. The binding I used was coptic stitch binding, this worked well as you can fully open the pages, this allowed me to have the book the exact size that I wanted without have to worry about how the binding will effect the size of the pages. I chose to do my book fairly small at the size of A5, I think this makes the book more intimate and means the audience have to get involved. By having it this size they want to pick it and and look through it, they don’t have to lay it on a table due to it being too heavy so they can easily look at it wherever they are.

My final prints are small to fit well in the book, I decided to do them this size after printing some larger ones and deciding that it was unneccisary for them to be this big, although there is a lot of detail in my images this smaller size works a lot better. The prints themselves are fairly dark, I think this also gets the audience more involved as they want to pick them up and have a closer look. I think this creates a mysterious feel and makes the audience wonder more about the place further than the image itself. I made sure that all the prints had the same tone to them to ensure that my series of images were constant and fitted well together.

When deciding on how to frame my images I decided to leave them as I printed them, these were all different, I wanted to keep it like that as I was photographing different ‘edges’ of the countryside, therefore I thought by having different edges on the image this only enhanced this. I didn’t want to cut the white section completely off as the blurred edge showed that the images aren’t cropped, therefore I am not trying to change the message of my series. So by leaving the frame I was able to express this.

When considering the presentation of my book I was thinking about how I was look at the place as to where to put the images. For example if I was looking down on the image, the the image would be lower on the page and vise-versa  if I was looking up. I also took a long time considering what order to put the images in. The beginning few images are a bit further out, it’s almost as if I’m looking into the countryside and my subject matter, this quickly goes more in depth and concentrates strongly on what I want my audience to pay attention to: the edge. I have ordered the images so they flow well with each other, all the lines within the image flow in the right direction and hint to the audience where they should be looking next. I have however left enough room for the viewers to have their own interpretation and opinion on the book. I don’t want to give them too much information to make it that I am telling them how to feel about my work.

I decided to give a bit of audience knowledge at the front of the book so that the audience have some idea about why I have done this project and the amount of research that has gone into it. I put it at the front so they can form their opinions of my work having an understand as to why I have done it.

On the front of the book there is only one bit of information, this is a date: 09 Nov 2009. This contextualises the series and brings in a date that the images were taken. I decided to use 2009 as the images are black and white and therefore look a lot older than 2014.

Overall I think my final piece has been successful and I am going to develop it further in more time with less restrictions from the project.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

