John Hilliard

John Hilliards work in his series ‘Cause of Death’ shows the importance of how you frame the image. Everyone will interpret images differently due to what they believe to be the studium and punctum, and these will vary from person to person. Hilliard’s work is of the same image but cropped in different ways, in each of these images is a body and each suggest a different causeĀ of death. This is a very clear example of not how the camera can lie, but how the image can be manipulated to change the meaning, narrative or message behind the image. This relates to my project as when I am thinking about how to present my images I have to consider cropping. Do I make it clear that the image hasn’t been cropped? Would the story be massively changed if I did crop the image?

hilliard5

