Visual Diary

Over the summer we got set the task to create a visual diary, I decided to do mine a little differently to what may be first interpreted by many. I didn’t want to just take snapshots of my day to day life, as over the summer this mainly consisted of work. I was aware if I was to do this it would be very similar on a day to day basis and not overly interesting. So going against what I originally thought to do, take a photo every hour for a week, I decided to do mine over a two week period, one week at home and one week whilst I was on holiday in Tunisia. This idea came about when thinking of other possible options, I wanted to document the changes in culture and what my time at home is like compared to what it is on holiday. This may not be seen as a usual diary but I think this still fits the brief well. It is still exploring my life over summer, just with some added depth than my usual day to day life.

Here is my response to the breif:

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

We have since had a feedback session and reviewed our work, i will be responding to this critical review. The points that were made in my review were:

  • Maybe look at a more structured lay out, this expresses well what you are trying to get across but maybe a little to much like a scrapbook
  • Use less images, pick the stronger ones, you don’t need as many to get your point across
  • Maybe only use one image per page, let the image breathe and speak for itself
  • Comparisons can still be made and should be
  • Maybe look into explaining a little more why you have decided to shoot with a disposable camera

I agree with the majority of this feedback and will be redoing my visual diary to respond to these points. I think this body of work can be a lot stronger if I apply some of these.

