Brand-New Topographics

“I wasn’t imposing my presence on anyone,.. which is very important for a would-be journalist. I stayed back. Always let people be themselves.”

-Elliott Erwitt

SONY DSC

“I would say to any artist: ‘Don’t be repressed in your work, dare to experiment, consider any urge, if in a new direction all the better.'”

– Edward Weston

SONY DSC

“I go straight in very close to people and I do that because it’s the only way you can get the picture. You go right up to them. Even now, I don’t find it easy. I don’t announce it. I pretend to be focusing elsewhere. If you take someone’s photograph it is very difficult not to look at them just after. But it’s one thing that gives the game away. I don’t try and hide what i’m doing- that would be folly.”

-Martin Parr

SONY DSC

“Trust that little voice in your head that says ‘Wouldn’t it be interesting if….’ And then do it.”

-Duane Michaels

SONY DSC

“The immortal photographers will be straightforward photographers, those who do not rely on tricks or special techniques.”

– Phillippe Halsman

SONY DSC

“I have been frequently accused of deliberately twisting subject matter to my point of view. Above all, I know that life for a photographer cannot be a matter of indifference. Opinion often consists of a kind of criticism. But criticism can come out of love. It is important to see what is invisible to others. Perhaps the look of hope or the look of sadness. Also, it is always the instantaneous reaction to oneself that produces a photograph.”

– Robert Frank

SONY DSC

“I am not interested in extraordinary angles. they can be effective on certain occasions, but i do not feel the necessity for them in my own work. Indeed, I feel the simplest approach can often be the most effective. A subject placed squarely in the centre of the frame, if attention is not distracted from it by fussy surroundings, has a simple dignity which makes it all the more impressive.”

– Bill Brandt

SONY DSC

“Photography has become a formidable weapon against truth in the hands of the bourgeoisie. The enormous quantity of picture material spit out daily by the printing press, that consequently appears to possess the character of truth, actually serves only to obscure facts. The camera can lie just like the type-setting machine.”

– Bertolt Brecht

SONY DSC

“If your pictures aren’t good enough, you’re not close enough.”

– Robert Capa

SONY DSC

“I hate nothing more than sugary photographs with tricks, poses and effects. So allow me to be honest? and tell the truth about our age and i’s people.”

– August Sander

SONY DSC

